A charge of driving while intoxicated in Rhode Island carries a license suspension of at least 30 days and up to one year for the first offense. However, some drivers qualify for a shortened suspension by installing an ignition interlock device, which prevents a vehicle from starting if the driver does not pass the integrated breath test.
If you face license suspension because of a DUI, read on to learn more about IID requirements.
Where do I get an IID?
You must have an IID installed by one of the seven companies currently approved to do so in Rhode Island. The cost for the device and installation varies by provider, but averages about $2.50 a day for the suspension term. For example, if you need to have an IID installed for one year, expect to pay about $900.
How do I get my license back after installing an IID?
Visit the Division of Motor Vehicles Adjudication Office with an installation certificate from an approved IID provider and a copy of the court order indicating your IID requirements. Associated costs are as follows:
- $100 IID fee (which is separate from the device rental and installation cost)
- $352.50 license reinstatement fee
- $252.50 vehicle registration reinstatement fee if applicable
- $27.50 fee for new license with IID requirements
Who qualifies for an IID?
For a first offense, you can apply for license reinstatement after 30 days with an IID. For a second offense, the suspension period is 45 days before IID eligibility, and this increases to 60 days for a third offense. Some first offenders may qualify for a hardship license, which allows you to drive during certain hours to attend work and school. You must install an IID if you receive hardship license approval.
The IID law in Rhode Island is relatively new. However, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention report that states with this type of law typically experience a decrease in DUI arrests and associated fatalities.