Being convicted of a sex crime is very serious, and in the state of Rhode Island, many offenses require compliance with the sex offender registry database. In the event that you are required to register for the Rhode Island sex offender database, it is important to know what the law requires. According to Klaas Kids, individuals who have been convicted of a sexual criminal offense against a minor, those who are considered sexual predators, those who have committed multiple sexual offenses, and those who commit aggravated sexual crimes must register.
The information for this database includes a record of the individual’s offenses, treatment documentation for mental disorders, the individual’s name, other factors that can easily identify the individual, and the individual’s anticipated residence.
Offenders are required to register for the database within 24 hours of being released from prison. Re-registration is required within 24 hours of changing address, and those who are moving into the state must register within 24 hours of crossing state lines if required.
There are a variety of timeframes surrounding the required registration. The basic requirement is 10 years following the date of the individual’s release from prison or probation. If the individual is found to be sexually violent, he or she must register or the duration of his or her life. If there are multiple offenses, the individual will also need to register for life. Depending on the nature of the offense, this may also affect the length of time an individual will need to be on the sex offender registry.
This information is designed to educate you on the basics of the Rhode Island sex offender registry. It is not intended to be taken as legal advice.